A few more books

picture240

Just a few more books:

  • Ernest Hemingway-  The Torrents of Spring     50p
  • Tove Jansson-  Finn Family Moomintroll     50p
  • Henry James-  The Turn of the Screw and other stories     50p
  • Geoffrey Chaucer-  The Canterbury Tales     50p
  • J.R.R. Tolkien-  Roverandom     50p
  • J.R.R. Tolkien-  The Silmarillion     50p

I know that the Moomintroll series are for children, but I loved them when I read them quite a few years ago, and thought that a copy of one of them for 50p was too good a chance to turn down. Also, in terms of ‘The Silmarillion’: I have read ‘The Hobbit’ and ‘The Lord of the Rings’ (and I hope to ‘reclaim’ my old and battered copies of these next week from my parents’), but despite owning an old hard-back edition of this work, I have never attempted it as I’ve just been overfaced by it. Hopefully, the purchase of a new, less cumbersome softback edition may prompt me to have another go!

Oh- I’ve also nearly finished ‘Heart of Darkness’, so there should be a review up of this soon. I also mean to get a few thoughts up on Jostein Gaarder’s ‘Through a Glass, Darkly’ which I read the other week, and will endeavour to do this as well.

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “A few more books

  1. Nice little haul! I found Kafka’s The Castle and Hemingway’s ‘A Farewell To Arms’ for £2 each at a large music store, pretty happy about that and can’t wait to read them! I’m currently struggling on Dostoyevksy’s ‘Notes From The Underground’ though (I’ve read a few books in between a break from it.. although if you get chance check out Mark Rowlands ‘Running With The Pack: Thoughts from the Road on Meaning and Mortality’, just finished it and it is a thought provoking book, well worth a read! Keep up the blog, loving it!

  2. Hi! Thank you for the positive comments- I’ve had a look at some write-ups on the Rowlands book, and it is definitely something that I will look out for; it sounds very different to anything I’ve read, and could be very thought-provoking. I stumbled on Kafka’s ‘The Trial’ when back in Oxford for my graduation, but sadly didn’t have any money on me. I’m still kicking myself.

    • I’ve read a few of his books before (‘The Philosopher and the Wolf’, and his ‘Animals Like Us’ on animal rights and ethics) and I have always found him a quite thought provoking on the nature of life, of what is it’s intrinsic value etc. I’d recommend the new book 🙂 With regards to Kafka I agree with your previous post about the short collection being hit and miss, but ‘The Castle’ looks great (even though it literally stops mid-sentence!), haven’t read ‘The Trial’ yet. I need to visit more charity shops, used to volunteer for one in Sheffield and I loved it, so many great books!

      And no problems, I’m really enjoying your varied entries so thank you!

Leave a Reply

Penguin Blog

Thoughts and ideas from the world of Penguin

Women of Mongolia

New Media Research Expedition Through Altai and Ulaanbaatar, Summer 2015

Triumph of the Now

How To Read, How Not To Live

Pretty Books

Fiction, Young Adult and Children's Books & Reviews

A Medley Of Extemporanea

Books, books and more books (and libraries too)

Great Writers Inspire

Learning from the Past

"Broken Glass"

Quietly contemplating female characters in English and American literature

Deathsplanation

n. 1. The act or process of explaining about death 2. Something that explains about death 3. A mutual clarification of misunderstandings about death; a reconciliation.

A Bone to Pick

by Scott D. Haddow

Asylum

John Self's Shelves

Anthropology.net

Beyond bones & stones

Tales From the Landing Book Shelves

The TBR Pile: Stories, Poems, Arts and Culture

bloodfromstones

A great WordPress.com site

SARA PERRY

The Archaeological Eye

Prehistories

Adventures in Time and Place

Don't Bend, Ascend

Something Different

These Bones Of Mine

Human Osteology & Archaeology amongst other things...

History Echoes

History, Archaeology, Anthropology, Technology, and Mythology

archaeologyntwales

archaeology in wales cared for by the national trust

The Feast Bowl

The Wordpress blog for the National Museums of Scotland

History Undusted

The dusty bits of history undusted and presented to the unsuspecting public.

Stephanie Huesler

My ponderings, research, tidbits & the nuts and bolts of good writing.

Nicholas Andriani

Adventure Travel and Gastronomy, Passionately Explored

Stoke Minster

the historic & Civic Church of Stoke-on-Trent

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

The World according to Dina

Notes on Seeing, Reading & Writing, Living & Loving in The North

Museum Postcard

Reviews and thoughts on museums explored

Bones Don't Lie

Current News in Mortuary Archaeology and Bioarchaeology

Ancient Bodies, Ancient Lives

How can we use material traces of past lives to understand sex and gender in the past?

Grow up proper

A raw view on life

A Corner of Tenth-Century Europe

Early medievalist's thoughts and ponderings, by Jonathan Jarrett

